Donovan’s Own Folklore

Donovan’s Own Folklore

Dana E. Donovan grew up in New England where folklore and superstitions can mold a town’s history as much as its people. As a boy, he loved reading Sherlock Holmes mysteries and tales of adventure by Mark Twain. Later, he became a big Stephen King fan, and when he started writing his own mysteries, influences from all his literary heroes began echoing in his writings. In his blended style, Dana exploits small town phenomena, perpetuating the enigma of its people and the belief in all that dies is not dead.

The Marcella Witch’s series revolves around five main characters whose lives thoroughly interconnect and evolve from book to book. There’s witchcraft with paranormal suspense, and of course a mystery, usually a crime mystery. In that respect, I make sure that each book is a capable stand-alone, and that the reader gets a satisfactory resolution to the mystery by books end. Yet, it’s the continuing back-story that makes the series what it is; the reader’s

investment in the characters keeps them coming back for more. To date, there are 9 books in the series with number 10 on the way.

The genre is paranormal suspense and mystery, sort of a Mike Hammer meets Harry Potter on steroids.  Sorry J.K.

What kind of readers will it appeal to?

Funny, I’d have thought Stephen King readers would look like the series best. Yet, based on the feedback I see on my fan page, the reader cross-section appears much more diverse. Maybe I didn’t have a clue who was reading Stephen King.

Tell us a bit more about Detective Tony Marcella?

For a detective, Tony is a complicated protagonist, especially where Lilith is involved. He’s a reluctant romantic at heart who’s not afraid to show his insecurities along with his confidence, his diplomatic prowess along with his stubbornness. He’s sensitive, yet shrewd, and sometimes mixes bravado with bullshit. Sorry, can I say bullshit? In essence, he’s a stand-up guy.

Should we start reading from book one, The Witches Ladder, or can we read the series in any order? Do you have an end planned for the series or will you keep going?

Great questions. Although I take pains to assure that one may read and enjoy any volume of the series in any order, one should not. Truly, the allure of the series is in experiencing the growth of the characters and their relationships.

In fact, two of the main characters, Dominic and Ursula, don’t make their debuts until books two and four, respectively. Is that important?

Hmm…As far as an end plan, I can’t say…or won’t. I will tell you that book 10 is due out soon and I have ideas for eleven already in the works. I’m not sure who will tell me when it’s gone far enough, my readers or my characters, because the truth is, it’s really not up to me.

Tell us a bit about yourself?

This is the part I doubt anyone really cares much about. So I’ll just insert my author’s bio blurb here, and if you made it this far, I want to say thank you for reading, but don’t stop now. The best is yet to come.

Dana E. Donovan grew up in New England where folklore and superstitions can mold a town’s history as much as its people. He exploits that phenomenon in all his books, perpetuating the enigma of small-town life and the belief in all that dies is not dead.

Where can we buy your books?  –  

  Amazon  –  Barnes & Noble  –  Smashwords  –  ITunes  

Celeste Duckworth

About The Author

Richard Trent

About Richard,

French Connection

The Ordinary

Advertise Here




Advertise With Us

Jone’s of New York