More Than an International Dancer a Mentor to over 3000 Kenyan Children

Born and raised in the slums of Majengo, and at the age of thirteen years old, Moesha Kibibi Tijari was chased home by her relatives because of wanted to dance.  After her parents passed away she started sleeping outside like a street girl.   She wanted to go to school so she started selling groundnuts in the Gikomba market in order to get money to go to school.

Sleeping outside was not safe so she decided to move into a house of five hundred shillings a month as it was getting risky outside. She also decided to let ten girls move in with her who also needed safety – some were HIV positive, others were young mothers, and some orphans.  She had to work extra hard on her dance talent just to get money to go to school and to also help some of the girls she took in to go to school.

Moesha now dances (and is the only female) of the widely renowned FBI Dance Crew from Kenya and she has won many international dance awards, also teaching every walk of life from school children to politicians to celebrities.  It has been a very challenging journey and now Moesha is mentoring 3000 girls and 500 boys in Kenya, helping them get into school and reminding them of their dreams – a good deal of Moesha’s high profile dance income goes towards financially supporting her organization DIVAS Initiative as well.

She will be conducting two fantastic introductory Afro Dance workshops for both children and adults for Shakefest 2021 as well as an amazing performance in the Shakefest Virtual Hafla.

 

For some years now Moesha Kay has been teaching Afropop to all ages even people who are going through weight and health issue problems.   She incorporates the fundamentals of Traditional African Dance at the beginning so people know how it began and how it evolved to AfroPop and even Afro Hip Hop. For a Zoom, she’ll instruct simple routines for 45 minutes and then 15 minutes for any questions or showing of demo routines.  

Join us in some fun Afro Pop for adults using Zoom.  Get moving the fun way.  4 classes for $40.00 start Sunday, November 14th at 6:00 AM Pacific Time – 7:00 AM MST – 9:00 AM EST – 2:00 PM Ireland and 5:00 PM in Kenya.  Send your $40.00 for class HERE.  It’s for a good cause to help Mosha continue to help the children of Kenya.  If you would like to join us here is the link to pay for the class.

Watch some of Moesha’s exciting dance videos on TikTok and YouTube

Moesha is doing some fantastic and essential work at the DIVAS Initiative Organization in Kenya.   Please click HERE to learn more and HERE to help support this great cause.

 

Moesha Kay

I will always be that girl who not only speaks for myself but also for those without a voice so that they can be heard. Those who wanna give up to uplift, motivate and help them. Their right to live in peace. Their right to be treated with dignity. Their right to equality of opportunity. Their right to be educated…

 

Let’s Get Moving and Help…

 

Advertisements
LIVING VERTIKAL